aboutsummaryrefslogtreecommitdiff
diff options
context:
space:
mode:
authorJoonsoo Kim <iamjoonsoo.kim@lge.com>2013-09-11 14:21:04 -0700
committerSteve Capper <steve.capper@linaro.org>2014-06-12 08:48:09 +0100
commit8d043fc5b9b5ff16b16bb352feb7bd07d3262446 (patch)
tree9f5061d381e39c72ea84ce8dffc002d4b40f713d
parent6f338cc8afdab09c5fd9ed306313bd7d7a50ba6f (diff)
downloadlinux-8d043fc5b9b5ff16b16bb352feb7bd07d3262446.tar.gz
mm, hugetlb: do not use a page in page cache for cow optimization
Currently, we use a page with mapped count 1 in page cache for cow optimization. If we find this condition, we don't allocate a new page and copy contents. Instead, we map this page directly. This may introduce a problem that writting to private mapping overwrite hugetlb file directly. You can find this situation with following code. size = 20 * MB; flag = MAP_SHARED; p = mmap(NULL, size, PROT_READ|PROT_WRITE, flag, fd, 0); if (p == MAP_FAILED) { fprintf(stderr, "mmap() failed: %s\n", strerror(errno)); return -1; } p[0] = 's'; fprintf(stdout, "BEFORE STEAL PRIVATE WRITE: %c\n", p[0]); munmap(p, size); flag = MAP_PRIVATE; p = mmap(NULL, size, PROT_READ|PROT_WRITE, flag, fd, 0); if (p == MAP_FAILED) { fprintf(stderr, "mmap() failed: %s\n", strerror(errno)); } p[0] = 'c'; munmap(p, size); flag = MAP_SHARED; p = mmap(NULL, size, PROT_READ|PROT_WRITE, flag, fd, 0); if (p == MAP_FAILED) { fprintf(stderr, "mmap() failed: %s\n", strerror(errno)); return -1; } fprintf(stdout, "AFTER STEAL PRIVATE WRITE: %c\n", p[0]); munmap(p, size); We can see that "AFTER STEAL PRIVATE WRITE: c", not "AFTER STEAL PRIVATE WRITE: s". If we turn off this optimization to a page in page cache, the problem is disappeared. So, I change the trigger condition of optimization. If this page is not AnonPage, we don't do optimization. This makes this optimization turning off for a page cache. Signed-off-by: Joonsoo Kim <iamjoonsoo.kim@lge.com> Acked-by: Michal Hocko <mhocko@suse.cz> Reviewed-by: Wanpeng Li <liwanp@linux.vnet.ibm.com> Reviewed-by: Naoya Horiguchi <n-horiguchi@ah.jp.nec.com> Cc: Aneesh Kumar K.V <aneesh.kumar@linux.vnet.ibm.com> Acked-by: Hillf Danton <dhillf@gmail.com> Cc: Rik van Riel <riel@redhat.com> Cc: Mel Gorman <mgorman@suse.de> Cc: "Aneesh Kumar K.V" <aneesh.kumar@linux.vnet.ibm.com> Cc: KAMEZAWA Hiroyuki <kamezawa.hiroyu@jp.fujitsu.com> Cc: Hugh Dickins <hughd@google.com> Cc: Davidlohr Bueso <davidlohr.bueso@hp.com> Cc: David Gibson <david@gibson.dropbear.id.au> Signed-off-by: Andrew Morton <akpm@linux-foundation.org> Signed-off-by: Linus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>
-rw-r--r--mm/hugetlb.c7
1 files changed, 2 insertions, 5 deletions
diff --git a/mm/hugetlb.c b/mm/hugetlb.c
index 1b50f12b428..ebd3cc8aa2f 100644
--- a/mm/hugetlb.c
+++ b/mm/hugetlb.c
@@ -2565,7 +2565,6 @@ static int hugetlb_cow(struct mm_struct *mm, struct vm_area_struct *vma,
{
struct hstate *h = hstate_vma(vma);
struct page *old_page, *new_page;
- int avoidcopy;
int outside_reserve = 0;
unsigned long mmun_start; /* For mmu_notifiers */
unsigned long mmun_end; /* For mmu_notifiers */
@@ -2575,10 +2574,8 @@ static int hugetlb_cow(struct mm_struct *mm, struct vm_area_struct *vma,
retry_avoidcopy:
/* If no-one else is actually using this page, avoid the copy
* and just make the page writable */
- avoidcopy = (page_mapcount(old_page) == 1);
- if (avoidcopy) {
- if (PageAnon(old_page))
- page_move_anon_rmap(old_page, vma, address);
+ if (page_mapcount(old_page) == 1 && PageAnon(old_page)) {
+ page_move_anon_rmap(old_page, vma, address);
set_huge_ptep_writable(vma, address, ptep);
return 0;
}