aboutsummaryrefslogtreecommitdiff
diff options
context:
space:
mode:
authorLai Jiangshan <laijs@cn.fujitsu.com>2014-05-16 11:50:42 +0800
committerIngo Molnar <mingo@kernel.org>2014-05-22 10:21:31 +0200
commit6acbfb96976fc3350e30d964acb1dbbdf876d55e (patch)
tree545a0c3d49d4603b568bf33c295f5c5504c0d334
parent4dac0b638310d2e92f6e19958b73d4c97c9734bb (diff)
downloadlinux-6acbfb96976fc3350e30d964acb1dbbdf876d55e.tar.gz
sched: Fix hotplug vs. set_cpus_allowed_ptr()
Lai found that: WARNING: CPU: 1 PID: 13 at arch/x86/kernel/smp.c:124 native_smp_send_reschedule+0x2d/0x4b() ... migration_cpu_stop+0x1d/0x22 was caused by set_cpus_allowed_ptr() assuming that cpu_active_mask is always a sub-set of cpu_online_mask. This isn't true since 5fbd036b552f ("sched: Cleanup cpu_active madness"). So set active and online at the same time to avoid this particular problem. Fixes: 5fbd036b552f ("sched: Cleanup cpu_active madness") Signed-off-by: Lai Jiangshan <laijs@cn.fujitsu.com> Signed-off-by: Peter Zijlstra <peterz@infradead.org> Cc: Andrew Morton <akpm@linux-foundation.org> Cc: Gautham R. Shenoy <ego@linux.vnet.ibm.com> Cc: Linus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org> Cc: Michael wang <wangyun@linux.vnet.ibm.com> Cc: Paul Gortmaker <paul.gortmaker@windriver.com> Cc: Rafael J. Wysocki <rafael.j.wysocki@intel.com> Cc: Srivatsa S. Bhat <srivatsa.bhat@linux.vnet.ibm.com> Cc: Toshi Kani <toshi.kani@hp.com> Link: http://lkml.kernel.org/r/53758B12.8060609@cn.fujitsu.com Signed-off-by: Ingo Molnar <mingo@kernel.org>
-rw-r--r--kernel/cpu.c6
-rw-r--r--kernel/sched/core.c1
2 files changed, 4 insertions, 3 deletions
diff --git a/kernel/cpu.c b/kernel/cpu.c
index a9e710eef0e..247979a1b81 100644
--- a/kernel/cpu.c
+++ b/kernel/cpu.c
@@ -726,10 +726,12 @@ void set_cpu_present(unsigned int cpu, bool present)
void set_cpu_online(unsigned int cpu, bool online)
{
- if (online)
+ if (online) {
cpumask_set_cpu(cpu, to_cpumask(cpu_online_bits));
- else
+ cpumask_set_cpu(cpu, to_cpumask(cpu_active_bits));
+ } else {
cpumask_clear_cpu(cpu, to_cpumask(cpu_online_bits));
+ }
}
void set_cpu_active(unsigned int cpu, bool active)
diff --git a/kernel/sched/core.c b/kernel/sched/core.c
index 44e00abece0..86f3890c3d0 100644
--- a/kernel/sched/core.c
+++ b/kernel/sched/core.c
@@ -5076,7 +5076,6 @@ static int sched_cpu_active(struct notifier_block *nfb,
unsigned long action, void *hcpu)
{
switch (action & ~CPU_TASKS_FROZEN) {
- case CPU_STARTING:
case CPU_DOWN_FAILED:
set_cpu_active((long)hcpu, true);
return NOTIFY_OK;