aboutsummaryrefslogtreecommitdiff
path: root/lib
diff options
context:
space:
mode:
authorPeter Zijlstra <peterz@infradead.org>2017-11-17 15:28:12 -0800
committerLinus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>2017-11-17 16:10:01 -0800
commite813a614007e3a8a7b53d976e86d9a20f21f81ad (patch)
treea9e47515bf36699de4cf802a281b161525aa633e /lib
parentf8ae107eef209bff29a5816bc1aad40d5cd69a80 (diff)
download96b-common-e813a614007e3a8a7b53d976e86d9a20f21f81ad.tar.gz
lib/int_sqrt: adjust comments
Our current int_sqrt() is not rough nor any approximation; it calculates the exact value of: floor(sqrt()). Document this. Link: http://lkml.kernel.org/r/20171020164645.001652117@infradead.org Signed-off-by: Peter Zijlstra (Intel) <peterz@infradead.org> Acked-by: Linus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org> Cc: Anshul Garg <aksgarg1989@gmail.com> Cc: Davidlohr Bueso <dave@stgolabs.net> Cc: David Miller <davem@davemloft.net> Cc: Ingo Molnar <mingo@kernel.org> Cc: Joe Perches <joe@perches.com> Cc: Kees Cook <keescook@chromium.org> Cc: Matthew Wilcox <mawilcox@microsoft.com> Cc: Michael Davidson <md@google.com> Cc: Thomas Gleixner <tglx@linutronix.de> Cc: Will Deacon <will.deacon@arm.com> Signed-off-by: Andrew Morton <akpm@linux-foundation.org> Signed-off-by: Linus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>
Diffstat (limited to 'lib')
-rw-r--r--lib/int_sqrt.c4
1 files changed, 2 insertions, 2 deletions
diff --git a/lib/int_sqrt.c b/lib/int_sqrt.c
index 67bb300b5b46..e2d329099bf7 100644
--- a/lib/int_sqrt.c
+++ b/lib/int_sqrt.c
@@ -11,10 +11,10 @@
#include <linux/bitops.h>
/**
- * int_sqrt - rough approximation to sqrt
+ * int_sqrt - computes the integer square root
* @x: integer of which to calculate the sqrt
*
- * A very rough approximation to the sqrt() function.
+ * Computes: floor(sqrt(x))
*/
unsigned long int_sqrt(unsigned long x)
{