aboutsummaryrefslogtreecommitdiff
path: root/Documentation
diff options
context:
space:
mode:
authorHuang Ying <ying.huang@intel.com>2017-10-13 15:58:29 -0700
committerLinus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>2017-10-13 16:18:33 -0700
commit61b639723be5a9fc4812d5d85cb769589afa5a38 (patch)
tree7a7b92cdaa08c84af347f9ce015f13c49b0d1971 /Documentation
parenta7b100953aa33a5bbdc3e5e7f2241b9c0704606e (diff)
download96b-common-61b639723be5a9fc4812d5d85cb769589afa5a38.tar.gz
mm, swap: use page-cluster as max window of VMA based swap readahead
When the VMA based swap readahead was introduced, a new knob /sys/kernel/mm/swap/vma_ra_max_order was added as the max window of VMA swap readahead. This is to make it possible to use different max window for VMA based readahead and original physical readahead. But Minchan Kim pointed out that this will cause a regression because setting page-cluster sysctl to zero cannot disable swap readahead with the change. To fix the regression, the page-cluster sysctl is used as the max window of both the VMA based swap readahead and original physical swap readahead. If more fine grained control is needed in the future, more knobs can be added as the subordinate knobs of the page-cluster sysctl. The vma_ra_max_order knob is deleted. Because the knob was introduced in v4.14-rc1, and this patch is targeting being merged before v4.14 releasing, there should be no existing users of this newly added ABI. Link: http://lkml.kernel.org/r/20171011070847.16003-1-ying.huang@intel.com Fixes: ec560175c0b6fce ("mm, swap: VMA based swap readahead") Signed-off-by: "Huang, Ying" <ying.huang@intel.com> Reported-by: Minchan Kim <minchan@kernel.org> Acked-by: Minchan Kim <minchan@kernel.org> Acked-by: Michal Hocko <mhocko@suse.com> Cc: Johannes Weiner <hannes@cmpxchg.org> Cc: Rik van Riel <riel@redhat.com> Cc: Shaohua Li <shli@kernel.org> Cc: Hugh Dickins <hughd@google.com> Cc: Fengguang Wu <fengguang.wu@intel.com> Cc: Tim Chen <tim.c.chen@intel.com> Cc: Dave Hansen <dave.hansen@intel.com> Signed-off-by: Andrew Morton <akpm@linux-foundation.org> Signed-off-by: Linus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>
Diffstat (limited to 'Documentation')
-rw-r--r--Documentation/ABI/testing/sysfs-kernel-mm-swap10
1 files changed, 0 insertions, 10 deletions
diff --git a/Documentation/ABI/testing/sysfs-kernel-mm-swap b/Documentation/ABI/testing/sysfs-kernel-mm-swap
index 587db52084c7..94672016c268 100644
--- a/Documentation/ABI/testing/sysfs-kernel-mm-swap
+++ b/Documentation/ABI/testing/sysfs-kernel-mm-swap
@@ -14,13 +14,3 @@ Description: Enable/disable VMA based swap readahead.
still used for tmpfs etc. other users. If set to
false, the global swap readahead algorithm will be
used for all swappable pages.
-
-What: /sys/kernel/mm/swap/vma_ra_max_order
-Date: August 2017
-Contact: Linux memory management mailing list <linux-mm@kvack.org>
-Description: The max readahead size in order for VMA based swap readahead
-
- VMA based swap readahead algorithm will readahead at
- most 1 << max_order pages for each readahead. The
- real readahead size for each readahead will be scaled
- according to the estimation algorithm.