aboutsummaryrefslogtreecommitdiff
diff options
context:
space:
mode:
authorPeter Zijlstra <peterz@infradead.org>2019-04-23 22:03:18 +0200
committerSteven Rostedt (VMware) <rostedt@goodmis.org>2019-04-26 11:45:03 -0400
commitd6097c9e4454adf1f8f2c9547c2fa6060d55d952 (patch)
treecd9864136dae1127da63fa0b56ad79016cae53c3
parent91862cc7867bba4ee5c8fcf0ca2f1d30427b6129 (diff)
download96b-common-d6097c9e4454adf1f8f2c9547c2fa6060d55d952.tar.gz
trace: Fix preempt_enable_no_resched() abuse
Unless the very next line is schedule(), or implies it, one must not use preempt_enable_no_resched(). It can cause a preemption to go missing and thereby cause arbitrary delays, breaking the PREEMPT=y invariant. Link: http://lkml.kernel.org/r/20190423200318.GY14281@hirez.programming.kicks-ass.net Cc: Waiman Long <longman@redhat.com> Cc: Linus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org> Cc: Ingo Molnar <mingo@redhat.com> Cc: Will Deacon <will.deacon@arm.com> Cc: Thomas Gleixner <tglx@linutronix.de> Cc: the arch/x86 maintainers <x86@kernel.org> Cc: Davidlohr Bueso <dave@stgolabs.net> Cc: Tim Chen <tim.c.chen@linux.intel.com> Cc: huang ying <huang.ying.caritas@gmail.com> Cc: Roman Gushchin <guro@fb.com> Cc: Alexei Starovoitov <ast@kernel.org> Cc: Daniel Borkmann <daniel@iogearbox.net> Cc: stable@vger.kernel.org Fixes: 2c2d7329d8af ("tracing/ftrace: use preempt_enable_no_resched_notrace in ring_buffer_time_stamp()") Signed-off-by: Peter Zijlstra (Intel) <peterz@infradead.org> Signed-off-by: Steven Rostedt (VMware) <rostedt@goodmis.org>
-rw-r--r--kernel/trace/ring_buffer.c2
1 files changed, 1 insertions, 1 deletions
diff --git a/kernel/trace/ring_buffer.c b/kernel/trace/ring_buffer.c
index 41b6f96e5366..4ee8d8aa3d0f 100644
--- a/kernel/trace/ring_buffer.c
+++ b/kernel/trace/ring_buffer.c
@@ -762,7 +762,7 @@ u64 ring_buffer_time_stamp(struct ring_buffer *buffer, int cpu)
preempt_disable_notrace();
time = rb_time_stamp(buffer);
- preempt_enable_no_resched_notrace();
+ preempt_enable_notrace();
return time;
}