aboutsummaryrefslogtreecommitdiff
diff options
context:
space:
mode:
authorSteven Price <steven.price@arm.com>2019-11-19 11:47:23 +1100
committerStephen Rothwell <sfr@canb.auug.org.au>2019-11-25 17:09:54 +1100
commit105eb48e92c3391966324aa07fa63db222d48800 (patch)
treea2ebec070da5d4444397237d7afc1be437455275
parentbbe9865628d345414875a73de2c6c36ab9be8bd1 (diff)
download96b-common-105eb48e92c3391966324aa07fa63db222d48800.tar.gz
mm-pagewalk-allow-walking-without-vma-v15
Switch walk_page_range() into two functions, the existing walk_page_range() now still requires VMAs (and treats areas without a VMA as a 'hole'). The new walk_page_range_novma() ignores VMAs and will report the actual page table layout. This fixes the previous breakage of /proc/<pid>/pagemap Link: http://lkml.kernel.org/r/20191101140942.51554-13-steven.price@arm.com Signed-off-by: Steven Price <steven.price@arm.com> Cc: Catalin Marinas <catalin.marinas@arm.com> Cc: Will Deacon <will@kernel.org> Cc: Albert Ou <aou@eecs.berkeley.edu> Cc: Alexander Potapenko <glider@google.com> Cc: Alexandre Ghiti <alex@ghiti.fr> Cc: Andrey Ryabinin <aryabinin@virtuozzo.com> Cc: Andy Lutomirski <luto@kernel.org> Cc: Ard Biesheuvel <ard.biesheuvel@linaro.org> Cc: Arnd Bergmann <arnd@arndb.de> Cc: Benjamin Herrenschmidt <benh@kernel.crashing.org> Cc: Borislav Petkov <bp@alien8.de> Cc: Christian Borntraeger <borntraeger@de.ibm.com> Cc: Dave Hansen <dave.hansen@linux.intel.com> Cc: Dave Jiang <dave.jiang@intel.com> Cc: David S. Miller <davem@davemloft.net> Cc: Dmitry Vyukov <dvyukov@google.com> Cc: Heiko Carstens <heiko.carstens@de.ibm.com> Cc: "H. Peter Anvin" <hpa@zytor.com> Cc: Ingo Molnar <mingo@elte.hu> Cc: James Hogan <jhogan@kernel.org> Cc: James Morse <james.morse@arm.com> Cc: "Liang, Kan" <kan.liang@linux.intel.com> Cc: Mark Rutland <mark.rutland@arm.com> Cc: Matthew Wilcox <mawilcox@microsoft.com> Cc: Michael Ellerman <mpe@ellerman.id.au> Cc: Naoya Horiguchi <n-horiguchi@ah.jp.nec.com> Cc: Palmer Dabbelt <palmer@sifive.com> Cc: Paul Burton <paul.burton@mips.com> Cc: Paul Mackerras <paulus@samba.org> Cc: Paul Walmsley <paul.walmsley@sifive.com> Cc: Peter Zijlstra <peterz@infradead.org> Cc: Ralf Baechle <ralf@linux-mips.org> Cc: Russell King <linux@armlinux.org.uk> Cc: Shiraz Hashim <shashim@codeaurora.org> Cc: Thomas Gleixner <tglx@linutronix.de> Cc: Vasily Gorbik <gor@linux.ibm.com> Cc: Vineet Gupta <vgupta@synopsys.com> Cc: Zong Li <zong.li@sifive.com> Signed-off-by: Andrew Morton <akpm@linux-foundation.org> Signed-off-by: Stephen Rothwell <sfr@canb.auug.org.au>
-rw-r--r--include/linux/pagewalk.h5
-rw-r--r--mm/pagewalk.c23
2 files changed, 26 insertions, 2 deletions
diff --git a/include/linux/pagewalk.h b/include/linux/pagewalk.h
index 12004b097eae..ed2bb399fac2 100644
--- a/include/linux/pagewalk.h
+++ b/include/linux/pagewalk.h
@@ -53,6 +53,7 @@ struct mm_walk_ops {
* @ops: operation to call during the walk
* @mm: mm_struct representing the target process of page table walk
* @vma: vma currently walked (NULL if walking outside vmas)
+ * @no_vma: walk ignoring vmas (vma will always be NULL)
* @private: private data for callbacks' usage
*
* (see the comment on walk_page_range() for more details)
@@ -61,12 +62,16 @@ struct mm_walk {
const struct mm_walk_ops *ops;
struct mm_struct *mm;
struct vm_area_struct *vma;
+ bool no_vma;
void *private;
};
int walk_page_range(struct mm_struct *mm, unsigned long start,
unsigned long end, const struct mm_walk_ops *ops,
void *private);
+int walk_page_range_novma(struct mm_struct *mm, unsigned long start,
+ unsigned long end, const struct mm_walk_ops *ops,
+ void *private);
int walk_page_vma(struct vm_area_struct *vma, const struct mm_walk_ops *ops,
void *private);
diff --git a/mm/pagewalk.c b/mm/pagewalk.c
index 4139e9163aee..626e7fdb0508 100644
--- a/mm/pagewalk.c
+++ b/mm/pagewalk.c
@@ -38,7 +38,7 @@ static int walk_pmd_range(pud_t *pud, unsigned long addr, unsigned long end,
do {
again:
next = pmd_addr_end(addr, end);
- if (pmd_none(*pmd)) {
+ if (pmd_none(*pmd) || (!walk->vma && !walk->no_vma)) {
if (ops->pte_hole)
err = ops->pte_hole(addr, next, walk);
if (err)
@@ -89,7 +89,7 @@ static int walk_pud_range(p4d_t *p4d, unsigned long addr, unsigned long end,
do {
again:
next = pud_addr_end(addr, end);
- if (pud_none(*pud)) {
+ if (pud_none(*pud) || (!walk->vma && !walk->no_vma)) {
if (ops->pte_hole)
err = ops->pte_hole(addr, next, walk);
if (err)
@@ -367,6 +367,25 @@ int walk_page_range(struct mm_struct *mm, unsigned long start,
return err;
}
+int walk_page_range_novma(struct mm_struct *mm, unsigned long start,
+ unsigned long end, const struct mm_walk_ops *ops,
+ void *private)
+{
+ struct mm_walk walk = {
+ .ops = ops,
+ .mm = mm,
+ .private = private,
+ .no_vma = true
+ };
+
+ if (start >= end || !walk.mm)
+ return -EINVAL;
+
+ lockdep_assert_held(&walk.mm->mmap_sem);
+
+ return __walk_page_range(start, end, &walk);
+}
+
int walk_page_vma(struct vm_area_struct *vma, const struct mm_walk_ops *ops,
void *private)
{