aboutsummaryrefslogtreecommitdiff
diff options
context:
space:
mode:
authorKarimAllah Ahmed <karahmed@amazon.de>2018-02-01 22:59:44 +0100
committerGreg Kroah-Hartman <gregkh@linuxfoundation.org>2018-02-07 11:14:14 -0800
commit3d6e862c967f9d5bc83882b44fb918b4cc4f4d2a (patch)
treead0b4bce0f5c0e7b6d364c2f2054ab93234f8f1a
parent4659554aecb0f5c43713b830a398bbb0f27d4fb1 (diff)
download96b-common-3d6e862c967f9d5bc83882b44fb918b4cc4f4d2a.tar.gz
KVM/VMX: Emulate MSR_IA32_ARCH_CAPABILITIES
commit 28c1c9fabf48d6ad596273a11c46e0d0da3e14cd Intel processors use MSR_IA32_ARCH_CAPABILITIES MSR to indicate RDCL_NO (bit 0) and IBRS_ALL (bit 1). This is a read-only MSR. By default the contents will come directly from the hardware, but user-space can still override it. [dwmw2: The bit in kvm_cpuid_7_0_edx_x86_features can be unconditional] Signed-off-by: KarimAllah Ahmed <karahmed@amazon.de> Signed-off-by: David Woodhouse <dwmw@amazon.co.uk> Signed-off-by: Thomas Gleixner <tglx@linutronix.de> Reviewed-by: Paolo Bonzini <pbonzini@redhat.com> Reviewed-by: Darren Kenny <darren.kenny@oracle.com> Reviewed-by: Jim Mattson <jmattson@google.com> Reviewed-by: Konrad Rzeszutek Wilk <konrad.wilk@oracle.com> Cc: Andrea Arcangeli <aarcange@redhat.com> Cc: Andi Kleen <ak@linux.intel.com> Cc: Jun Nakajima <jun.nakajima@intel.com> Cc: kvm@vger.kernel.org Cc: Dave Hansen <dave.hansen@intel.com> Cc: Linus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org> Cc: Andy Lutomirski <luto@kernel.org> Cc: Asit Mallick <asit.k.mallick@intel.com> Cc: Arjan Van De Ven <arjan.van.de.ven@intel.com> Cc: Greg KH <gregkh@linuxfoundation.org> Cc: Dan Williams <dan.j.williams@intel.com> Cc: Tim Chen <tim.c.chen@linux.intel.com> Cc: Ashok Raj <ashok.raj@intel.com> Link: https://lkml.kernel.org/r/1517522386-18410-4-git-send-email-karahmed@amazon.de Signed-off-by: Greg Kroah-Hartman <gregkh@linuxfoundation.org>
-rw-r--r--arch/x86/kvm/cpuid.c2
-rw-r--r--arch/x86/kvm/vmx.c15
-rw-r--r--arch/x86/kvm/x86.c1
3 files changed, 17 insertions, 1 deletions
diff --git a/arch/x86/kvm/cpuid.c b/arch/x86/kvm/cpuid.c
index 033004de01e6..1909635fe09c 100644
--- a/arch/x86/kvm/cpuid.c
+++ b/arch/x86/kvm/cpuid.c
@@ -394,7 +394,7 @@ static inline int __do_cpuid_ent(struct kvm_cpuid_entry2 *entry, u32 function,
/* cpuid 7.0.edx*/
const u32 kvm_cpuid_7_0_edx_x86_features =
- F(AVX512_4VNNIW) | F(AVX512_4FMAPS);
+ F(AVX512_4VNNIW) | F(AVX512_4FMAPS) | F(ARCH_CAPABILITIES);
/* all calls to cpuid_count() should be made on the same cpu */
get_cpu();
diff --git a/arch/x86/kvm/vmx.c b/arch/x86/kvm/vmx.c
index 73acdcf58c4c..e5f75eb7c459 100644
--- a/arch/x86/kvm/vmx.c
+++ b/arch/x86/kvm/vmx.c
@@ -594,6 +594,8 @@ struct vcpu_vmx {
u64 msr_guest_kernel_gs_base;
#endif
+ u64 arch_capabilities;
+
u32 vm_entry_controls_shadow;
u32 vm_exit_controls_shadow;
u32 secondary_exec_control;
@@ -3260,6 +3262,12 @@ static int vmx_get_msr(struct kvm_vcpu *vcpu, struct msr_data *msr_info)
case MSR_IA32_TSC:
msr_info->data = guest_read_tsc(vcpu);
break;
+ case MSR_IA32_ARCH_CAPABILITIES:
+ if (!msr_info->host_initiated &&
+ !guest_cpuid_has(vcpu, X86_FEATURE_ARCH_CAPABILITIES))
+ return 1;
+ msr_info->data = to_vmx(vcpu)->arch_capabilities;
+ break;
case MSR_IA32_SYSENTER_CS:
msr_info->data = vmcs_read32(GUEST_SYSENTER_CS);
break;
@@ -3395,6 +3403,11 @@ static int vmx_set_msr(struct kvm_vcpu *vcpu, struct msr_data *msr_info)
vmx_disable_intercept_for_msr(vmx->vmcs01.msr_bitmap, MSR_IA32_PRED_CMD,
MSR_TYPE_W);
break;
+ case MSR_IA32_ARCH_CAPABILITIES:
+ if (!msr_info->host_initiated)
+ return 1;
+ vmx->arch_capabilities = data;
+ break;
case MSR_IA32_CR_PAT:
if (vmcs_config.vmentry_ctrl & VM_ENTRY_LOAD_IA32_PAT) {
if (!kvm_mtrr_valid(vcpu, MSR_IA32_CR_PAT, data))
@@ -5657,6 +5670,8 @@ static void vmx_vcpu_setup(struct vcpu_vmx *vmx)
++vmx->nmsrs;
}
+ if (boot_cpu_has(X86_FEATURE_ARCH_CAPABILITIES))
+ rdmsrl(MSR_IA32_ARCH_CAPABILITIES, vmx->arch_capabilities);
vm_exit_controls_init(vmx, vmcs_config.vmexit_ctrl);
diff --git a/arch/x86/kvm/x86.c b/arch/x86/kvm/x86.c
index c53298dfbf50..4ec142e90a34 100644
--- a/arch/x86/kvm/x86.c
+++ b/arch/x86/kvm/x86.c
@@ -1009,6 +1009,7 @@ static u32 msrs_to_save[] = {
#endif
MSR_IA32_TSC, MSR_IA32_CR_PAT, MSR_VM_HSAVE_PA,
MSR_IA32_FEATURE_CONTROL, MSR_IA32_BNDCFGS, MSR_TSC_AUX,
+ MSR_IA32_ARCH_CAPABILITIES
};
static unsigned num_msrs_to_save;