aboutsummaryrefslogtreecommitdiff
diff options
context:
space:
mode:
authorDavid Hildenbrand <david@redhat.com>2018-10-17 11:18:32 +1100
committerStephen Rothwell <sfr@canb.auug.org.au>2018-10-19 17:25:09 +1100
commit13da1291384b5fbb8e461700af24a83a44aafc68 (patch)
treeff9ba64d2fbb589bc931ab75a9b9bd4bbdc46c1f
parent1fb7807104e7c6a22a6d9fff0dd1355cefeddfde (diff)
download96b-common-13da1291384b5fbb8e461700af24a83a44aafc68.tar.gz
powerpc/powernv: hold device_hotplug_lock when calling memtrace_offline_pages()
Let's perform all checking + offlining + removing under device_hotplug_lock, so nobody can mess with these devices via sysfs concurrently. Link: http://lkml.kernel.org/r/20180925091457.28651-6-david@redhat.com Signed-off-by: David Hildenbrand <david@redhat.com> Reviewed-by: Pavel Tatashin <pavel.tatashin@microsoft.com> Reviewed-by: Rashmica Gupta <rashmica.g@gmail.com> Acked-by: Balbir Singh <bsingharora@gmail.com> Cc: Benjamin Herrenschmidt <benh@kernel.crashing.org> Cc: Paul Mackerras <paulus@samba.org> Cc: Michael Ellerman <mpe@ellerman.id.au> Cc: Rashmica Gupta <rashmica.g@gmail.com> Cc: Michael Neuling <mikey@neuling.org> Cc: Boris Ostrovsky <boris.ostrovsky@oracle.com> Cc: Dan Williams <dan.j.williams@intel.com> Cc: Greg Kroah-Hartman <gregkh@linuxfoundation.org> Cc: Haiyang Zhang <haiyangz@microsoft.com> Cc: Heiko Carstens <heiko.carstens@de.ibm.com> Cc: John Allen <jallen@linux.vnet.ibm.com> Cc: Jonathan Corbet <corbet@lwn.net> Cc: Joonsoo Kim <iamjoonsoo.kim@lge.com> Cc: Juergen Gross <jgross@suse.com> Cc: Kate Stewart <kstewart@linuxfoundation.org> Cc: "K. Y. Srinivasan" <kys@microsoft.com> Cc: Len Brown <lenb@kernel.org> Cc: Martin Schwidefsky <schwidefsky@de.ibm.com> Cc: Mathieu Malaterre <malat@debian.org> Cc: Michal Hocko <mhocko@suse.com> Cc: Nathan Fontenot <nfont@linux.vnet.ibm.com> Cc: Oscar Salvador <osalvador@suse.de> Cc: Philippe Ombredanne <pombredanne@nexb.com> Cc: Rafael J. Wysocki <rafael.j.wysocki@intel.com> Cc: "Rafael J. Wysocki" <rjw@rjwysocki.net> Cc: Stephen Hemminger <sthemmin@microsoft.com> Cc: Thomas Gleixner <tglx@linutronix.de> Cc: Vlastimil Babka <vbabka@suse.cz> Cc: YASUAKI ISHIMATSU <yasu.isimatu@gmail.com> Signed-off-by: Andrew Morton <akpm@linux-foundation.org> Signed-off-by: Stephen Rothwell <sfr@canb.auug.org.au>
-rw-r--r--arch/powerpc/platforms/powernv/memtrace.c4
1 files changed, 3 insertions, 1 deletions
diff --git a/arch/powerpc/platforms/powernv/memtrace.c b/arch/powerpc/platforms/powernv/memtrace.c
index fdd48f1a39f7..d84d09c56af9 100644
--- a/arch/powerpc/platforms/powernv/memtrace.c
+++ b/arch/powerpc/platforms/powernv/memtrace.c
@@ -70,6 +70,7 @@ static int change_memblock_state(struct memory_block *mem, void *arg)
return 0;
}
+/* called with device_hotplug_lock held */
static bool memtrace_offline_pages(u32 nid, u64 start_pfn, u64 nr_pages)
{
u64 end_pfn = start_pfn + nr_pages - 1;
@@ -111,6 +112,7 @@ static u64 memtrace_alloc_node(u32 nid, u64 size)
end_pfn = round_down(end_pfn - nr_pages, nr_pages);
for (base_pfn = end_pfn; base_pfn > start_pfn; base_pfn -= nr_pages) {
+ lock_device_hotplug();
if (memtrace_offline_pages(nid, base_pfn, nr_pages) == true) {
/*
* Remove memory in memory block size chunks so that
@@ -118,7 +120,6 @@ static u64 memtrace_alloc_node(u32 nid, u64 size)
* we never try to remove memory that spans two iomem
* resources.
*/
- lock_device_hotplug();
end_pfn = base_pfn + nr_pages;
for (pfn = base_pfn; pfn < end_pfn; pfn += bytes>> PAGE_SHIFT) {
__remove_memory(nid, pfn << PAGE_SHIFT, bytes);
@@ -126,6 +127,7 @@ static u64 memtrace_alloc_node(u32 nid, u64 size)
unlock_device_hotplug();
return base_pfn << PAGE_SHIFT;
}
+ unlock_device_hotplug();
}
return 0;