aboutsummaryrefslogtreecommitdiff
path: root/mm/mremap.c
diff options
context:
space:
mode:
authorZi Yan <zi.yan@cs.rutgers.edu>2017-09-08 16:11:01 -0700
committerLinus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>2017-09-08 18:26:45 -0700
commit84c3fc4e9c563d8fb91cfdf5948da48fe1af34d3 (patch)
treefc028524f9272c5ba1690d18937ebfc0bf0a0f9e /mm/mremap.c
parent616b8371539a6c487404c3b8fb04078016dab4ba (diff)
downloadlinux-stericsson-84c3fc4e9c563d8fb91cfdf5948da48fe1af34d3.tar.gz
mm: thp: check pmd migration entry in common path
When THP migration is being used, memory management code needs to handle pmd migration entries properly. This patch uses !pmd_present() or is_swap_pmd() (depending on whether pmd_none() needs separate code or not) to check pmd migration entries at the places where a pmd entry is present. Since pmd-related code uses split_huge_page(), split_huge_pmd(), pmd_trans_huge(), pmd_trans_unstable(), or pmd_none_or_trans_huge_or_clear_bad(), this patch: 1. adds pmd migration entry split code in split_huge_pmd(), 2. takes care of pmd migration entries whenever pmd_trans_huge() is present, 3. makes pmd_none_or_trans_huge_or_clear_bad() pmd migration entry aware. Since split_huge_page() uses split_huge_pmd() and pmd_trans_unstable() is equivalent to pmd_none_or_trans_huge_or_clear_bad(), we do not change them. Until this commit, a pmd entry should be: 1. pointing to a pte page, 2. is_swap_pmd(), 3. pmd_trans_huge(), 4. pmd_devmap(), or 5. pmd_none(). Signed-off-by: Zi Yan <zi.yan@cs.rutgers.edu> Cc: Kirill A. Shutemov <kirill.shutemov@linux.intel.com> Cc: "H. Peter Anvin" <hpa@zytor.com> Cc: Anshuman Khandual <khandual@linux.vnet.ibm.com> Cc: Dave Hansen <dave.hansen@intel.com> Cc: David Nellans <dnellans@nvidia.com> Cc: Ingo Molnar <mingo@elte.hu> Cc: Mel Gorman <mgorman@techsingularity.net> Cc: Minchan Kim <minchan@kernel.org> Cc: Naoya Horiguchi <n-horiguchi@ah.jp.nec.com> Cc: Thomas Gleixner <tglx@linutronix.de> Cc: Vlastimil Babka <vbabka@suse.cz> Cc: Andrea Arcangeli <aarcange@redhat.com> Cc: Michal Hocko <mhocko@kernel.org> Signed-off-by: Andrew Morton <akpm@linux-foundation.org> Signed-off-by: Linus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>
Diffstat (limited to 'mm/mremap.c')
-rw-r--r--mm/mremap.c2
1 files changed, 1 insertions, 1 deletions
diff --git a/mm/mremap.c b/mm/mremap.c
index 7395564daa6c..cfec004c4ff9 100644
--- a/mm/mremap.c
+++ b/mm/mremap.c
@@ -223,7 +223,7 @@ unsigned long move_page_tables(struct vm_area_struct *vma,
new_pmd = alloc_new_pmd(vma->vm_mm, vma, new_addr);
if (!new_pmd)
break;
- if (pmd_trans_huge(*old_pmd)) {
+ if (is_swap_pmd(*old_pmd) || pmd_trans_huge(*old_pmd)) {
if (extent == HPAGE_PMD_SIZE) {
bool moved;
/* See comment in move_ptes() */