aboutsummaryrefslogtreecommitdiff
path: root/lib
diff options
context:
space:
mode:
authorNick Desaulniers <ndesaulniers@google.com>2019-04-05 18:38:45 -0700
committerLinus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>2019-04-05 16:02:30 -1000
commit5f074f3e192f10c9fade898b9b3b8812e3d83342 (patch)
tree0c8e72562ede26e3d6094a1475bb2a9de5bd329f /lib
parent7f46774c6480174eb869a3c15167eafac467a6af (diff)
downloadlinux-stericsson-5f074f3e192f10c9fade898b9b3b8812e3d83342.tar.gz
lib/string.c: implement a basic bcmp
A recent optimization in Clang (r355672) lowers comparisons of the return value of memcmp against zero to comparisons of the return value of bcmp against zero. This helps some platforms that implement bcmp more efficiently than memcmp. glibc simply aliases bcmp to memcmp, but an optimized implementation is in the works. This results in linkage failures for all targets with Clang due to the undefined symbol. For now, just implement bcmp as a tailcail to memcmp to unbreak the build. This routine can be further optimized in the future. Other ideas discussed: * A weak alias was discussed, but breaks for architectures that define their own implementations of memcmp since aliases to declarations are not permitted (only definitions). Arch-specific memcmp implementations typically declare memcmp in C headers, but implement them in assembly. * -ffreestanding also is used sporadically throughout the kernel. * -fno-builtin-bcmp doesn't work when doing LTO. Link: https://bugs.llvm.org/show_bug.cgi?id=41035 Link: https://code.woboq.org/userspace/glibc/string/memcmp.c.html#bcmp Link: https://github.com/llvm/llvm-project/commit/8e16d73346f8091461319a7dfc4ddd18eedcff13 Link: https://github.com/ClangBuiltLinux/linux/issues/416 Link: http://lkml.kernel.org/r/20190313211335.165605-1-ndesaulniers@google.com Signed-off-by: Nick Desaulniers <ndesaulniers@google.com> Reported-by: Nathan Chancellor <natechancellor@gmail.com> Reported-by: Adhemerval Zanella <adhemerval.zanella@linaro.org> Suggested-by: Arnd Bergmann <arnd@arndb.de> Suggested-by: James Y Knight <jyknight@google.com> Suggested-by: Masahiro Yamada <yamada.masahiro@socionext.com> Suggested-by: Nathan Chancellor <natechancellor@gmail.com> Suggested-by: Rasmus Villemoes <linux@rasmusvillemoes.dk> Acked-by: Steven Rostedt (VMware) <rostedt@goodmis.org> Reviewed-by: Nathan Chancellor <natechancellor@gmail.com> Tested-by: Nathan Chancellor <natechancellor@gmail.com> Reviewed-by: Masahiro Yamada <yamada.masahiro@socionext.com> Reviewed-by: Andy Shevchenko <andriy.shevchenko@linux.intel.com> Cc: David Laight <David.Laight@ACULAB.COM> Cc: Rasmus Villemoes <linux@rasmusvillemoes.dk> Cc: Namhyung Kim <namhyung@kernel.org> Cc: Greg Kroah-Hartman <gregkh@linuxfoundation.org> Cc: Alexander Shishkin <alexander.shishkin@linux.intel.com> Cc: Dan Williams <dan.j.williams@intel.com> Cc: <stable@vger.kernel.org> Signed-off-by: Andrew Morton <akpm@linux-foundation.org> Signed-off-by: Linus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>
Diffstat (limited to 'lib')
-rw-r--r--lib/string.c20
1 files changed, 20 insertions, 0 deletions
diff --git a/lib/string.c b/lib/string.c
index 38e4ca08e757..3ab861c1a857 100644
--- a/lib/string.c
+++ b/lib/string.c
@@ -866,6 +866,26 @@ __visible int memcmp(const void *cs, const void *ct, size_t count)
EXPORT_SYMBOL(memcmp);
#endif
+#ifndef __HAVE_ARCH_BCMP
+/**
+ * bcmp - returns 0 if and only if the buffers have identical contents.
+ * @a: pointer to first buffer.
+ * @b: pointer to second buffer.
+ * @len: size of buffers.
+ *
+ * The sign or magnitude of a non-zero return value has no particular
+ * meaning, and architectures may implement their own more efficient bcmp(). So
+ * while this particular implementation is a simple (tail) call to memcmp, do
+ * not rely on anything but whether the return value is zero or non-zero.
+ */
+#undef bcmp
+int bcmp(const void *a, const void *b, size_t len)
+{
+ return memcmp(a, b, len);
+}
+EXPORT_SYMBOL(bcmp);
+#endif
+
#ifndef __HAVE_ARCH_MEMSCAN
/**
* memscan - Find a character in an area of memory.