aboutsummaryrefslogtreecommitdiff
path: root/ipc
diff options
context:
space:
mode:
authorManfred Spraul <manfred@colorfullife.com>2018-08-21 22:01:37 -0700
committerLinus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>2018-08-22 10:52:52 -0700
commit2e5ceb452c9b7f0a30c87bd61c01260e3d8464ad (patch)
treeb4a999c84f6a8935a46a35d741ef07968a9a330c /ipc
parent4241c1a304078569f544d51eeaf8bc270b6e377a (diff)
downloadlinux-stericsson-2e5ceb452c9b7f0a30c87bd61c01260e3d8464ad.tar.gz
ipc/util.c: correct comment in ipc_obtain_object_check
The comment that explains ipc_obtain_object_check is wrong: The function checks the sequence number, not the reference counter. Note that checking the reference counter would be meaningless: The reference counter is decreased without holding any locks, thus an object with kern_ipc_perm.deleted=true may disappear at the end of the next rcu grace period. Link: http://lkml.kernel.org/r/20180712185241.4017-6-manfred@colorfullife.com Signed-off-by: Manfred Spraul <manfred@colorfullife.com> Reviewed-by: Davidlohr Bueso <dbueso@suse.de> Cc: Davidlohr Bueso <dave@stgolabs.net> Cc: Dmitry Vyukov <dvyukov@google.com> Cc: Herbert Xu <herbert@gondor.apana.org.au> Cc: Kees Cook <keescook@chromium.org> Cc: Michael Kerrisk <mtk.manpages@gmail.com> Cc: Michal Hocko <mhocko@suse.com> Signed-off-by: Andrew Morton <akpm@linux-foundation.org> Signed-off-by: Linus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>
Diffstat (limited to 'ipc')
-rw-r--r--ipc/util.c4
1 files changed, 2 insertions, 2 deletions
diff --git a/ipc/util.c b/ipc/util.c
index 1d88dffd75e7..dcb437095cbd 100644
--- a/ipc/util.c
+++ b/ipc/util.c
@@ -629,8 +629,8 @@ err:
* @ids: ipc identifier set
* @id: ipc id to look for
*
- * Similar to ipc_obtain_object_idr() but also checks
- * the ipc object reference counter.
+ * Similar to ipc_obtain_object_idr() but also checks the ipc object
+ * sequence number.
*
* Call inside the RCU critical section.
* The ipc object is *not* locked on exit.