aboutsummaryrefslogtreecommitdiff
path: root/include
diff options
context:
space:
mode:
authorVineet Gupta <Vineet.Gupta1@synopsys.com>2015-11-05 18:48:29 -0800
committerLinus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>2015-11-05 19:34:48 -0800
commit3ca65c19ddbb45f504edf92fe7126ecc94d56e36 (patch)
treef58acce501684287c2dd60f100afb43365ed000d /include
parent4d7b3394f76ed72cfdec23ca5571dbab6ec41793 (diff)
downloadlinux-stericsson-3ca65c19ddbb45f504edf92fe7126ecc94d56e36.tar.gz
mm: optimize PageHighMem() check
This came up when implementing HIHGMEM/PAE40 for ARC. The kmap() / kmap_atomic() generated code seemed needlessly bloated due to the way PageHighMem() macro is implemented. It derives the exact zone for page and then does pointer subtraction with first zone to infer the zone_type. The pointer arithmatic in turn generates the code bloat. PageHighMem(page) is_highmem(page_zone(page)) zone_off = (char *)zone - (char *)zone->zone_pgdat->node_zones Instead use is_highmem_idx() to work on zone_type available in page flags ----- Before ----- 80756348: mov_s r13,r0 8075634a: ld_s r2,[r13,0] 8075634c: lsr_s r2,r2,30 8075634e: mpy r2,r2,0x2a4 80756352: add_s r2,r2,0x80aef880 80756358: ld_s r3,[r2,28] 8075635a: sub_s r2,r2,r3 8075635c: breq r2,0x2a4,80756378 <kmap+0x48> 80756364: breq r2,0x548,80756378 <kmap+0x48> ----- After ----- 80756330: mov_s r13,r0 80756332: ld_s r2,[r13,0] 80756334: lsr_s r2,r2,30 80756336: sub_s r2,r2,1 80756338: brlo r2,2,80756348 <kmap+0x30> For x86 defconfig build (32 bit only) it saves around 900 bytes. For ARC defconfig with HIGHMEM, it saved around 2K bytes. ---->8------- ./scripts/bloat-o-meter x86/vmlinux-defconfig-pre x86/vmlinux-defconfig-post add/remove: 0/0 grow/shrink: 0/36 up/down: 0/-934 (-934) function old new delta saveable_page 162 154 -8 saveable_highmem_page 154 146 -8 skb_gro_reset_offset 147 131 -16 ... ... __change_page_attr_set_clr 1715 1678 -37 setup_data_read 434 394 -40 mon_bin_event 1967 1927 -40 swsusp_save 1148 1105 -43 _set_pages_array 549 493 -56 ---->8------- e.g. For ARC kmap() Signed-off-by: Vineet Gupta <vgupta@synopsys.com> Acked-by: Michal Hocko <mhocko@suse.com> Cc: Naoya Horiguchi <n-horiguchi@ah.jp.nec.com> Cc: Hugh Dickins <hughd@google.com> Cc: "Kirill A. Shutemov" <kirill.shutemov@linux.intel.com> Cc: Michal Hocko <mhocko@suse.cz> Cc: Jennifer Herbert <jennifer.herbert@citrix.com> Cc: Konstantin Khlebnikov <khlebnikov@yandex-team.ru> Signed-off-by: Andrew Morton <akpm@linux-foundation.org> Signed-off-by: Linus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>
Diffstat (limited to 'include')
-rw-r--r--include/linux/page-flags.h2
1 files changed, 1 insertions, 1 deletions
diff --git a/include/linux/page-flags.h b/include/linux/page-flags.h
index 416509e26d6d..a525e5067484 100644
--- a/include/linux/page-flags.h
+++ b/include/linux/page-flags.h
@@ -256,7 +256,7 @@ PAGEFLAG(Readahead, reclaim) TESTCLEARFLAG(Readahead, reclaim)
* Must use a macro here due to header dependency issues. page_zone() is not
* available at this point.
*/
-#define PageHighMem(__p) is_highmem(page_zone(__p))
+#define PageHighMem(__p) is_highmem_idx(page_zonenum(__p))
#else
PAGEFLAG_FALSE(HighMem)
#endif