aboutsummaryrefslogtreecommitdiff
path: root/arch/alpha
diff options
context:
space:
mode:
authorXiaoming Ni <nixiaoming@huawei.com>2020-08-14 17:31:07 -0700
committerLinus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>2020-08-14 19:56:56 -0700
commit88db0aa2421666d2f73486d15b239a4521983d55 (patch)
tree914dc5f600c1dcc5c8b9c9d0e2eb8506037f8de6 /arch/alpha
parentc734124c5c824511f553f794a514a185dfc0e3e7 (diff)
downloadlinux-stericsson-88db0aa2421666d2f73486d15b239a4521983d55.tar.gz
all arch: remove system call sys_sysctl
Since commit 61a47c1ad3a4dc ("sysctl: Remove the sysctl system call"), sys_sysctl is actually unavailable: any input can only return an error. We have been warning about people using the sysctl system call for years and believe there are no more users. Even if there are users of this interface if they have not complained or fixed their code by now they probably are not going to, so there is no point in warning them any longer. So completely remove sys_sysctl on all architectures. [nixiaoming@huawei.com: s390: fix build error for sys_call_table_emu] Link: http://lkml.kernel.org/r/20200618141426.16884-1-nixiaoming@huawei.com Signed-off-by: Xiaoming Ni <nixiaoming@huawei.com> Signed-off-by: Andrew Morton <akpm@linux-foundation.org> Acked-by: Will Deacon <will@kernel.org> [arm/arm64] Acked-by: "Eric W. Biederman" <ebiederm@xmission.com> Cc: Aleksa Sarai <cyphar@cyphar.com> Cc: Alexander Shishkin <alexander.shishkin@linux.intel.com> Cc: Al Viro <viro@zeniv.linux.org.uk> Cc: Andi Kleen <ak@linux.intel.com> Cc: Andrew Morton <akpm@linux-foundation.org> Cc: Andy Lutomirski <luto@kernel.org> Cc: Arnaldo Carvalho de Melo <acme@kernel.org> Cc: Arnd Bergmann <arnd@arndb.de> Cc: Benjamin Herrenschmidt <benh@kernel.crashing.org> Cc: Bin Meng <bin.meng@windriver.com> Cc: Borislav Petkov <bp@alien8.de> Cc: Brian Gerst <brgerst@gmail.com> Cc: Catalin Marinas <catalin.marinas@arm.com> Cc: chenzefeng <chenzefeng2@huawei.com> Cc: Christian Borntraeger <borntraeger@de.ibm.com> Cc: Christian Brauner <christian@brauner.io> Cc: Chris Zankel <chris@zankel.net> Cc: David Howells <dhowells@redhat.com> Cc: David S. Miller <davem@davemloft.net> Cc: Diego Elio Pettenò <flameeyes@flameeyes.com> Cc: Dmitry Vyukov <dvyukov@google.com> Cc: Dominik Brodowski <linux@dominikbrodowski.net> Cc: Fenghua Yu <fenghua.yu@intel.com> Cc: Geert Uytterhoeven <geert@linux-m68k.org> Cc: Heiko Carstens <heiko.carstens@de.ibm.com> Cc: Helge Deller <deller@gmx.de> Cc: "H. Peter Anvin" <hpa@zytor.com> Cc: Ingo Molnar <mingo@redhat.com> Cc: Iurii Zaikin <yzaikin@google.com> Cc: Ivan Kokshaysky <ink@jurassic.park.msu.ru> Cc: James Bottomley <James.Bottomley@HansenPartnership.com> Cc: Jens Axboe <axboe@kernel.dk> Cc: Jiri Olsa <jolsa@redhat.com> Cc: Kars de Jong <jongk@linux-m68k.org> Cc: Kees Cook <keescook@chromium.org> Cc: Krzysztof Kozlowski <krzk@kernel.org> Cc: Luis Chamberlain <mcgrof@kernel.org> Cc: Marco Elver <elver@google.com> Cc: Mark Rutland <mark.rutland@arm.com> Cc: Martin K. Petersen <martin.petersen@oracle.com> Cc: Masahiro Yamada <yamada.masahiro@socionext.com> Cc: Matt Turner <mattst88@gmail.com> Cc: Max Filippov <jcmvbkbc@gmail.com> Cc: Michael Ellerman <mpe@ellerman.id.au> Cc: Michal Simek <monstr@monstr.eu> Cc: Miklos Szeredi <mszeredi@redhat.com> Cc: Minchan Kim <minchan@kernel.org> Cc: Namhyung Kim <namhyung@kernel.org> Cc: Naveen N. Rao <naveen.n.rao@linux.vnet.ibm.com> Cc: Nick Piggin <npiggin@gmail.com> Cc: Oleg Nesterov <oleg@redhat.com> Cc: Olof Johansson <olof@lixom.net> Cc: Paul Burton <paulburton@kernel.org> Cc: "Paul E. McKenney" <paulmck@kernel.org> Cc: Paul Mackerras <paulus@samba.org> Cc: Peter Zijlstra (Intel) <peterz@infradead.org> Cc: Randy Dunlap <rdunlap@infradead.org> Cc: Ravi Bangoria <ravi.bangoria@linux.ibm.com> Cc: Richard Henderson <rth@twiddle.net> Cc: Rich Felker <dalias@libc.org> Cc: Russell King <linux@armlinux.org.uk> Cc: Sami Tolvanen <samitolvanen@google.com> Cc: Sargun Dhillon <sargun@sargun.me> Cc: Stephen Rothwell <sfr@canb.auug.org.au> Cc: Sudeep Holla <sudeep.holla@arm.com> Cc: Sven Schnelle <svens@stackframe.org> Cc: Thiago Jung Bauermann <bauerman@linux.ibm.com> Cc: Thomas Bogendoerfer <tsbogend@alpha.franken.de> Cc: Thomas Gleixner <tglx@linutronix.de> Cc: Tony Luck <tony.luck@intel.com> Cc: Vasily Gorbik <gor@linux.ibm.com> Cc: Vlastimil Babka <vbabka@suse.cz> Cc: Yoshinori Sato <ysato@users.sourceforge.jp> Cc: Zhou Yanjie <zhouyanjie@wanyeetech.com> Link: http://lkml.kernel.org/r/20200616030734.87257-1-nixiaoming@huawei.com Signed-off-by: Linus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>
Diffstat (limited to 'arch/alpha')
-rw-r--r--arch/alpha/kernel/syscalls/syscall.tbl2
1 files changed, 1 insertions, 1 deletions
diff --git a/arch/alpha/kernel/syscalls/syscall.tbl b/arch/alpha/kernel/syscalls/syscall.tbl
index a28fb211881d..ec8bed9e7b75 100644
--- a/arch/alpha/kernel/syscalls/syscall.tbl
+++ b/arch/alpha/kernel/syscalls/syscall.tbl
@@ -249,7 +249,7 @@
316 common mlockall sys_mlockall
317 common munlockall sys_munlockall
318 common sysinfo sys_sysinfo
-319 common _sysctl sys_sysctl
+319 common _sysctl sys_ni_syscall
# 320 was sys_idle
321 common oldumount sys_oldumount
322 common swapon sys_swapon