aboutsummaryrefslogtreecommitdiff
path: root/arch/alpha
diff options
context:
space:
mode:
authorMike Rapoport <rppt@linux.ibm.com>2020-08-06 23:22:39 -0700
committerLinus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>2020-08-07 11:33:26 -0700
commit1355c31eeb7ea61a7f2f2937d17cd4e343a6b5af (patch)
treed4fb6613355844ad2f28283178f511c5b1e3d35e /arch/alpha
parent7278914ca1fdb54ba101c8617fb86953b31348cd (diff)
downloadlinux-stericsson-1355c31eeb7ea61a7f2f2937d17cd4e343a6b5af.tar.gz
asm-generic: pgalloc: provide generic pmd_alloc_one() and pmd_free_one()
For most architectures that support >2 levels of page tables, pmd_alloc_one() is a wrapper for __get_free_pages(), sometimes with __GFP_ZERO and sometimes followed by memset(0) instead. More elaborate versions on arm64 and x86 account memory for the user page tables and call to pgtable_pmd_page_ctor() as the part of PMD page initialization. Move the arm64 version to include/asm-generic/pgalloc.h and use the generic version on several architectures. The pgtable_pmd_page_ctor() is a NOP when ARCH_ENABLE_SPLIT_PMD_PTLOCK is not enabled, so there is no functional change for most architectures except of the addition of __GFP_ACCOUNT for allocation of user page tables. The pmd_free() is a wrapper for free_page() in all the cases, so no functional change here. Signed-off-by: Mike Rapoport <rppt@linux.ibm.com> Signed-off-by: Andrew Morton <akpm@linux-foundation.org> Reviewed-by: Pekka Enberg <penberg@kernel.org> Cc: Matthew Wilcox <willy@infradead.org> Cc: Abdul Haleem <abdhalee@linux.vnet.ibm.com> Cc: Andy Lutomirski <luto@kernel.org> Cc: Arnd Bergmann <arnd@arndb.de> Cc: Christophe Leroy <christophe.leroy@csgroup.eu> Cc: Joerg Roedel <joro@8bytes.org> Cc: Joerg Roedel <jroedel@suse.de> Cc: Max Filippov <jcmvbkbc@gmail.com> Cc: Peter Zijlstra (Intel) <peterz@infradead.org> Cc: Satheesh Rajendran <sathnaga@linux.vnet.ibm.com> Cc: Stafford Horne <shorne@gmail.com> Cc: Stephen Rothwell <sfr@canb.auug.org.au> Cc: Steven Rostedt <rostedt@goodmis.org> Cc: Geert Uytterhoeven <geert@linux-m68k.org> Link: http://lkml.kernel.org/r/20200627143453.31835-5-rppt@kernel.org Signed-off-by: Linus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>
Diffstat (limited to 'arch/alpha')
-rw-r--r--arch/alpha/include/asm/pgalloc.h15
1 files changed, 1 insertions, 14 deletions
diff --git a/arch/alpha/include/asm/pgalloc.h b/arch/alpha/include/asm/pgalloc.h
index a1a29f60934c..4834cd52e9d0 100644
--- a/arch/alpha/include/asm/pgalloc.h
+++ b/arch/alpha/include/asm/pgalloc.h
@@ -5,7 +5,7 @@
#include <linux/mm.h>
#include <linux/mmzone.h>
-#include <asm-generic/pgalloc.h> /* for pte_{alloc,free}_one */
+#include <asm-generic/pgalloc.h>
/*
* Allocate and free page tables. The xxx_kernel() versions are
@@ -40,17 +40,4 @@ pgd_free(struct mm_struct *mm, pgd_t *pgd)
free_page((unsigned long)pgd);
}
-static inline pmd_t *
-pmd_alloc_one(struct mm_struct *mm, unsigned long address)
-{
- pmd_t *ret = (pmd_t *)__get_free_page(GFP_PGTABLE_USER);
- return ret;
-}
-
-static inline void
-pmd_free(struct mm_struct *mm, pmd_t *pmd)
-{
- free_page((unsigned long)pmd);
-}
-
#endif /* _ALPHA_PGALLOC_H */