summaryrefslogtreecommitdiff
path: root/drivers/oprofile
diff options
context:
space:
mode:
authorKonstantin Khlebnikov <khlebnikov@openvz.org>2012-10-08 16:28:51 -0700
committerLinus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>2012-10-09 16:22:18 +0900
commit2dd8ad81e31d0d36a5d448329c646ab43eb17788 (patch)
treecd358be45ed8067673edac7f1db6b6a42a96d9db /drivers/oprofile
parent0b173bc4daa8f8ec03a85abf5e47b23502ff80af (diff)
downloadkernel-2dd8ad81e31d0d36a5d448329c646ab43eb17788.tar.gz
mm: use mm->exe_file instead of first VM_EXECUTABLE vma->vm_file
Some security modules and oprofile still uses VM_EXECUTABLE for retrieving a task's executable file. After this patch they will use mm->exe_file directly. mm->exe_file is protected with mm->mmap_sem, so locking stays the same. Signed-off-by: Konstantin Khlebnikov <khlebnikov@openvz.org> Acked-by: Chris Metcalf <cmetcalf@tilera.com> [arch/tile] Acked-by: Tetsuo Handa <penguin-kernel@I-love.SAKURA.ne.jp> [tomoyo] Cc: Alexander Viro <viro@zeniv.linux.org.uk> Cc: Carsten Otte <cotte@de.ibm.com> Cc: Cyrill Gorcunov <gorcunov@openvz.org> Cc: Eric Paris <eparis@redhat.com> Cc: H. Peter Anvin <hpa@zytor.com> Cc: Hugh Dickins <hughd@google.com> Cc: Ingo Molnar <mingo@redhat.com> Acked-by: James Morris <james.l.morris@oracle.com> Cc: Jason Baron <jbaron@redhat.com> Cc: Kentaro Takeda <takedakn@nttdata.co.jp> Cc: Matt Helsley <matthltc@us.ibm.com> Cc: Nick Piggin <npiggin@kernel.dk> Cc: Oleg Nesterov <oleg@redhat.com> Cc: Peter Zijlstra <a.p.zijlstra@chello.nl> Cc: Robert Richter <robert.richter@amd.com> Cc: Suresh Siddha <suresh.b.siddha@intel.com> Cc: Venkatesh Pallipadi <venki@google.com> Acked-by: Linus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org> Signed-off-by: Andrew Morton <akpm@linux-foundation.org> Signed-off-by: Linus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>
Diffstat (limited to 'drivers/oprofile')
-rw-r--r--drivers/oprofile/buffer_sync.c17
1 files changed, 3 insertions, 14 deletions
diff --git a/drivers/oprofile/buffer_sync.c b/drivers/oprofile/buffer_sync.c
index f34b5b29fb95..d93b2b6b1f7a 100644
--- a/drivers/oprofile/buffer_sync.c
+++ b/drivers/oprofile/buffer_sync.c
@@ -216,7 +216,7 @@ static inline unsigned long fast_get_dcookie(struct path *path)
}
-/* Look up the dcookie for the task's first VM_EXECUTABLE mapping,
+/* Look up the dcookie for the task's mm->exe_file,
* which corresponds loosely to "application name". This is
* not strictly necessary but allows oprofile to associate
* shared-library samples with particular applications
@@ -224,21 +224,10 @@ static inline unsigned long fast_get_dcookie(struct path *path)
static unsigned long get_exec_dcookie(struct mm_struct *mm)
{
unsigned long cookie = NO_COOKIE;
- struct vm_area_struct *vma;
-
- if (!mm)
- goto out;
- for (vma = mm->mmap; vma; vma = vma->vm_next) {
- if (!vma->vm_file)
- continue;
- if (!(vma->vm_flags & VM_EXECUTABLE))
- continue;
- cookie = fast_get_dcookie(&vma->vm_file->f_path);
- break;
- }
+ if (mm && mm->exe_file)
+ cookie = fast_get_dcookie(&mm->exe_file->f_path);
-out:
return cookie;
}