summaryrefslogtreecommitdiff
path: root/block/genhd.c
diff options
context:
space:
mode:
authorMing Lei <ming.lei@canonical.com>2013-02-22 16:34:13 -0800
committerLinus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>2013-02-23 17:50:16 -0800
commit25e823c8c37d123b77ce12a042da889e6bb5f9d1 (patch)
treec06fc6af0ac6d31e3f509871c7f0d871e0d0684b /block/genhd.c
parente823407f7b11fa06ba8e7a2801eb9ed11268a7ec (diff)
downloadkernel-25e823c8c37d123b77ce12a042da889e6bb5f9d1.tar.gz
block/genhd.c: apply pm_runtime_set_memalloc_noio on block devices
Apply the introduced pm_runtime_set_memalloc_noio on block device so that PM core will teach mm to not allocate memory with GFP_IOFS when calling the runtime_resume and runtime_suspend callback for block devices and its ancestors. Signed-off-by: Ming Lei <ming.lei@canonical.com> Cc: Jens Axboe <axboe@kernel.dk> Cc: Minchan Kim <minchan@kernel.org> Cc: Alan Stern <stern@rowland.harvard.edu> Cc: Oliver Neukum <oneukum@suse.de> Cc: Jiri Kosina <jiri.kosina@suse.com> Cc: Mel Gorman <mel@csn.ul.ie> Cc: KAMEZAWA Hiroyuki <kamezawa.hiroyu@jp.fujitsu.com> Cc: Michal Hocko <mhocko@suse.cz> Cc: Ingo Molnar <mingo@redhat.com> Cc: Peter Zijlstra <peterz@infradead.org> Cc: "Rafael J. Wysocki" <rjw@sisk.pl> Cc: Greg KH <greg@kroah.com> Cc: "David S. Miller" <davem@davemloft.net> Cc: Eric Dumazet <eric.dumazet@gmail.com> Cc: David Decotigny <david.decotigny@google.com> Cc: Tom Herbert <therbert@google.com> Cc: Ingo Molnar <mingo@elte.hu> Signed-off-by: Andrew Morton <akpm@linux-foundation.org> Signed-off-by: Linus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>
Diffstat (limited to 'block/genhd.c')
-rw-r--r--block/genhd.c10
1 files changed, 10 insertions, 0 deletions
diff --git a/block/genhd.c b/block/genhd.c
index 3993ebf4135f..5f73c2435fde 100644
--- a/block/genhd.c
+++ b/block/genhd.c
@@ -18,6 +18,7 @@
#include <linux/mutex.h>
#include <linux/idr.h>
#include <linux/log2.h>
+#include <linux/pm_runtime.h>
#include "blk.h"
@@ -534,6 +535,14 @@ static void register_disk(struct gendisk *disk)
return;
}
}
+
+ /*
+ * avoid probable deadlock caused by allocating memory with
+ * GFP_KERNEL in runtime_resume callback of its all ancestor
+ * devices
+ */
+ pm_runtime_set_memalloc_noio(ddev, true);
+
disk->part0.holder_dir = kobject_create_and_add("holders", &ddev->kobj);
disk->slave_dir = kobject_create_and_add("slaves", &ddev->kobj);
@@ -663,6 +672,7 @@ void del_gendisk(struct gendisk *disk)
disk->driverfs_dev = NULL;
if (!sysfs_deprecated)
sysfs_remove_link(block_depr, dev_name(disk_to_dev(disk)));
+ pm_runtime_set_memalloc_noio(disk_to_dev(disk), false);
device_del(disk_to_dev(disk));
}
EXPORT_SYMBOL(del_gendisk);