summaryrefslogtreecommitdiff
path: root/arch/arc
diff options
context:
space:
mode:
authorAndy Lutomirski <luto@amacapital.net>2015-02-12 15:01:14 -0800
committerLinus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>2015-02-12 18:54:12 -0800
commitf56141e3e2d9aabf7e6b89680ab572c2cdbb2a24 (patch)
tree481e3d99bc1121ce75d505d340153b9d158e60c5 /arch/arc
parentedc924e023ae2022fc29f1246e115c610c9abf38 (diff)
downloadkernel-f56141e3e2d9aabf7e6b89680ab572c2cdbb2a24.tar.gz
all arches, signal: move restart_block to struct task_struct
If an attacker can cause a controlled kernel stack overflow, overwriting the restart block is a very juicy exploit target. This is because the restart_block is held in the same memory allocation as the kernel stack. Moving the restart block to struct task_struct prevents this exploit by making the restart_block harder to locate. Note that there are other fields in thread_info that are also easy targets, at least on some architectures. It's also a decent simplification, since the restart code is more or less identical on all architectures. [james.hogan@imgtec.com: metag: align thread_info::supervisor_stack] Signed-off-by: Andy Lutomirski <luto@amacapital.net> Cc: Thomas Gleixner <tglx@linutronix.de> Cc: Al Viro <viro@zeniv.linux.org.uk> Cc: "H. Peter Anvin" <hpa@zytor.com> Cc: Ingo Molnar <mingo@kernel.org> Cc: Kees Cook <keescook@chromium.org> Cc: David Miller <davem@davemloft.net> Acked-by: Richard Weinberger <richard@nod.at> Cc: Richard Henderson <rth@twiddle.net> Cc: Ivan Kokshaysky <ink@jurassic.park.msu.ru> Cc: Matt Turner <mattst88@gmail.com> Cc: Vineet Gupta <vgupta@synopsys.com> Cc: Russell King <rmk@arm.linux.org.uk> Cc: Catalin Marinas <catalin.marinas@arm.com> Cc: Will Deacon <will.deacon@arm.com> Cc: Haavard Skinnemoen <hskinnemoen@gmail.com> Cc: Hans-Christian Egtvedt <egtvedt@samfundet.no> Cc: Steven Miao <realmz6@gmail.com> Cc: Mark Salter <msalter@redhat.com> Cc: Aurelien Jacquiot <a-jacquiot@ti.com> Cc: Mikael Starvik <starvik@axis.com> Cc: Jesper Nilsson <jesper.nilsson@axis.com> Cc: David Howells <dhowells@redhat.com> Cc: Richard Kuo <rkuo@codeaurora.org> Cc: "Luck, Tony" <tony.luck@intel.com> Cc: Geert Uytterhoeven <geert@linux-m68k.org> Cc: Michal Simek <monstr@monstr.eu> Cc: Ralf Baechle <ralf@linux-mips.org> Cc: Jonas Bonn <jonas@southpole.se> Cc: "James E.J. Bottomley" <jejb@parisc-linux.org> Cc: Helge Deller <deller@gmx.de> Cc: Benjamin Herrenschmidt <benh@kernel.crashing.org> Cc: Paul Mackerras <paulus@samba.org> Acked-by: Michael Ellerman <mpe@ellerman.id.au> (powerpc) Tested-by: Michael Ellerman <mpe@ellerman.id.au> (powerpc) Cc: Martin Schwidefsky <schwidefsky@de.ibm.com> Cc: Heiko Carstens <heiko.carstens@de.ibm.com> Cc: Chen Liqin <liqin.linux@gmail.com> Cc: Lennox Wu <lennox.wu@gmail.com> Cc: Chris Metcalf <cmetcalf@ezchip.com> Cc: Guan Xuetao <gxt@mprc.pku.edu.cn> Cc: Chris Zankel <chris@zankel.net> Cc: Max Filippov <jcmvbkbc@gmail.com> Cc: Oleg Nesterov <oleg@redhat.com> Cc: Guenter Roeck <linux@roeck-us.net> Signed-off-by: James Hogan <james.hogan@imgtec.com> Signed-off-by: Andrew Morton <akpm@linux-foundation.org> Signed-off-by: Linus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>
Diffstat (limited to 'arch/arc')
-rw-r--r--arch/arc/include/asm/thread_info.h4
-rw-r--r--arch/arc/kernel/signal.c2
2 files changed, 1 insertions, 5 deletions
diff --git a/arch/arc/include/asm/thread_info.h b/arch/arc/include/asm/thread_info.h
index 02bc5ec0fb2e..1163a1838ac1 100644
--- a/arch/arc/include/asm/thread_info.h
+++ b/arch/arc/include/asm/thread_info.h
@@ -46,7 +46,6 @@ struct thread_info {
struct exec_domain *exec_domain;/* execution domain */
__u32 cpu; /* current CPU */
unsigned long thr_ptr; /* TLS ptr */
- struct restart_block restart_block;
};
/*
@@ -62,9 +61,6 @@ struct thread_info {
.cpu = 0, \
.preempt_count = INIT_PREEMPT_COUNT, \
.addr_limit = KERNEL_DS, \
- .restart_block = { \
- .fn = do_no_restart_syscall, \
- }, \
}
#define init_thread_info (init_thread_union.thread_info)
diff --git a/arch/arc/kernel/signal.c b/arch/arc/kernel/signal.c
index cb3142a2d40b..114234e83caa 100644
--- a/arch/arc/kernel/signal.c
+++ b/arch/arc/kernel/signal.c
@@ -104,7 +104,7 @@ SYSCALL_DEFINE0(rt_sigreturn)
struct pt_regs *regs = current_pt_regs();
/* Always make any pending restarted system calls return -EINTR */
- current_thread_info()->restart_block.fn = do_no_restart_syscall;
+ current->restart_block.fn = do_no_restart_syscall;
/* Since we stacked the signal on a word boundary,
* then 'sp' should be word aligned here. If it's