summaryrefslogtreecommitdiff
path: root/Documentation/devices.txt
diff options
context:
space:
mode:
authorZhang Yanfei <zhangyanfei@cn.fujitsu.com>2013-07-03 15:08:36 -0700
committerLinus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>2013-07-03 16:08:03 -0700
commita11edb59a05d8d5195419bd1fc28d82752324158 (patch)
tree1100e82327ee45c50a4f9c0e47df9e845dcf0706 /Documentation/devices.txt
parent266b7a021f7dcc4d4531961a47f4ef74c3c4ab6b (diff)
downloadkernel-a11edb59a05d8d5195419bd1fc28d82752324158.tar.gz
/dev/oldmem: Remove the interface
/dev/oldmem provides the interface for us to access the "old memory" in the dump-capture kernel. Unfortunately, no one actually uses this interface. And this interface could actually cause some real problems if used on ia64 where the cached/uncached accesses are mixed. See the discussion from the link: https://lkml.org/lkml/2013/4/12/386. So Eric suggested that we should remove /dev/oldmem as an unused piece of code. [akpm@linux-foundation.org: mention /dev/oldmem obsolescence in devices.txt] Suggested-by: "Eric W. Biederman" <ebiederm@xmission.com> Signed-off-by: Zhang Yanfei <zhangyanfei@cn.fujitsu.com> Cc: Vivek Goyal <vgoyal@redhat.com> Cc: Dave Hansen <dave@sr71.net> Cc: "H. Peter Anvin" <hpa@zytor.com> Cc: "H. Peter Anvin" <hpa@zytor.com> Cc: Benjamin Herrenschmidt <benh@kernel.crashing.org> Cc: Fenghua Yu <fenghua.yu@intel.com> Cc: Heiko Carstens <heiko.carstens@de.ibm.com> Cc: Martin Schwidefsky <schwidefsky@de.ibm.com> Cc: Matt Fleming <matt.fleming@intel.com> Cc: Michael Holzheu <holzheu@linux.vnet.ibm.com> Cc: Paul Mackerras <paulus@samba.org> Cc: Ralf Baechle <ralf@linux-mips.org> Cc: Tony Luck <tony.luck@intel.com> Signed-off-by: Andrew Morton <akpm@linux-foundation.org> Signed-off-by: Linus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>
Diffstat (limited to 'Documentation/devices.txt')
-rw-r--r--Documentation/devices.txt3
1 files changed, 1 insertions, 2 deletions
diff --git a/Documentation/devices.txt b/Documentation/devices.txt
index b9015912bca6..23721d3be3e6 100644
--- a/Documentation/devices.txt
+++ b/Documentation/devices.txt
@@ -100,8 +100,7 @@ Your cooperation is appreciated.
10 = /dev/aio Asynchronous I/O notification interface
11 = /dev/kmsg Writes to this come out as printk's, reads
export the buffered printk records.
- 12 = /dev/oldmem Used by crashdump kernels to access
- the memory of the kernel that crashed.
+ 12 = /dev/oldmem OBSOLETE - replaced by /proc/vmcore
1 block RAM disk
0 = /dev/ram0 First RAM disk