summaryrefslogtreecommitdiff
path: root/Documentation/DocBook
diff options
context:
space:
mode:
authorColin Cross <ccross@android.com>2015-01-28 17:02:14 +0530
committerJason Wessel <jason.wessel@windriver.com>2015-02-19 12:39:03 -0600
commit5516fd7b92a7c16b9111a88aaa1b13dd937d8ac5 (patch)
tree161fb5efdb7ae4550011528a50b322b763f48bdb /Documentation/DocBook
parent32d375f6f24c3e4c9c235672695b4c314cf6b964 (diff)
downloadkernel-5516fd7b92a7c16b9111a88aaa1b13dd937d8ac5.tar.gz
debug: prevent entering debug mode on panic/exception.
On non-developer devices, kgdb prevents the device from rebooting after a panic. Incase of panics and exceptions, to allow the device to reboot, prevent entering debug mode to avoid getting stuck waiting for the user to interact with debugger. To avoid entering the debugger on panic/exception without any extra configuration, panic_timeout is being used which can be set via /proc/sys/kernel/panic at run time and CONFIG_PANIC_TIMEOUT sets the default value. Setting panic_timeout indicates that the user requested machine to perform unattended reboot after panic. We dont want to get stuck waiting for the user input incase of panic. Cc: Andrew Morton <akpm@linux-foundation.org> Cc: kgdb-bugreport@lists.sourceforge.net Cc: linux-kernel@vger.kernel.org Cc: Android Kernel Team <kernel-team@android.com> Cc: John Stultz <john.stultz@linaro.org> Cc: Sumit Semwal <sumit.semwal@linaro.org> Signed-off-by: Colin Cross <ccross@android.com> [Kiran: Added context to commit message. panic_timeout is used instead of break_on_panic and break_on_exception to honor CONFIG_PANIC_TIMEOUT Modified the commit as per community feedback] Signed-off-by: Kiran Raparthy <kiran.kumar@linaro.org> Signed-off-by: Daniel Thompson <daniel.thompson@linaro.org> Signed-off-by: Jason Wessel <jason.wessel@windriver.com>
Diffstat (limited to 'Documentation/DocBook')
0 files changed, 0 insertions, 0 deletions