aboutsummaryrefslogtreecommitdiff
path: root/drivers/cpufreq/ia64-acpi-cpufreq.c
diff options
context:
space:
mode:
authorViresh Kumar <viresh.kumar@linaro.org>2013-08-14 19:38:24 +0530
committerRafael J. Wysocki <rafael.j.wysocki@intel.com>2013-10-31 00:11:08 +0100
commitd4019f0a92ab802f385cc9c8ad3ab7b5449712cb (patch)
treeebd06695585e457ae1bf219653452b111e7508db /drivers/cpufreq/ia64-acpi-cpufreq.c
parent7dbf694db6ac7c759599316d50d7050efcbd512a (diff)
downloadleg-kernel-d4019f0a92ab802f385cc9c8ad3ab7b5449712cb.tar.gz
cpufreq: move freq change notifications to cpufreq core
Most of the drivers do following in their ->target_index() routines: struct cpufreq_freqs freqs; freqs.old = old freq... freqs.new = new freq... cpufreq_notify_transition(policy, &freqs, CPUFREQ_PRECHANGE); /* Change rate here */ cpufreq_notify_transition(policy, &freqs, CPUFREQ_POSTCHANGE); This is replicated over all cpufreq drivers today and there doesn't exists a good enough reason why this shouldn't be moved to cpufreq core instead. There are few special cases though, like exynos5440, which doesn't do everything on the call to ->target_index() routine and call some kind of bottom halves for doing this work, work/tasklet/etc.. They may continue doing notification from their own code as flag: CPUFREQ_ASYNC_NOTIFICATION is already set for them. All drivers are also modified in this patch to avoid breaking 'git bisect', as double notification would happen otherwise. Acked-by: Hans-Christian Egtvedt <egtvedt@samfundet.no> Acked-by: Jesper Nilsson <jesper.nilsson@axis.com> Acked-by: Linus Walleij <linus.walleij@linaro.org> Acked-by: Russell King <linux@arm.linux.org.uk> Acked-by: Stephen Warren <swarren@nvidia.com> Tested-by: Andrew Lunn <andrew@lunn.ch> Tested-by: Nicolas Pitre <nicolas.pitre@linaro.org> Reviewed-by: Lan Tianyu <tianyu.lan@intel.com> Signed-off-by: Viresh Kumar <viresh.kumar@linaro.org> Signed-off-by: Rafael J. Wysocki <rafael.j.wysocki@intel.com>
Diffstat (limited to 'drivers/cpufreq/ia64-acpi-cpufreq.c')
-rw-r--r--drivers/cpufreq/ia64-acpi-cpufreq.c19
1 files changed, 0 insertions, 19 deletions
diff --git a/drivers/cpufreq/ia64-acpi-cpufreq.c b/drivers/cpufreq/ia64-acpi-cpufreq.c
index 4695fa22406a..53c6ac637e10 100644
--- a/drivers/cpufreq/ia64-acpi-cpufreq.c
+++ b/drivers/cpufreq/ia64-acpi-cpufreq.c
@@ -141,7 +141,6 @@ processor_set_freq (
{
int ret = 0;
u32 value = 0;
- struct cpufreq_freqs cpufreq_freqs;
cpumask_t saved_mask;
int retval;
@@ -168,13 +167,6 @@ processor_set_freq (
pr_debug("Transitioning from P%d to P%d\n",
data->acpi_data.state, state);
- /* cpufreq frequency struct */
- cpufreq_freqs.old = data->freq_table[data->acpi_data.state].frequency;
- cpufreq_freqs.new = data->freq_table[state].frequency;
-
- /* notify cpufreq */
- cpufreq_notify_transition(policy, &cpufreq_freqs, CPUFREQ_PRECHANGE);
-
/*
* First we write the target state's 'control' value to the
* control_register.
@@ -186,22 +178,11 @@ processor_set_freq (
ret = processor_set_pstate(value);
if (ret) {
- unsigned int tmp = cpufreq_freqs.new;
- cpufreq_notify_transition(policy, &cpufreq_freqs,
- CPUFREQ_POSTCHANGE);
- cpufreq_freqs.new = cpufreq_freqs.old;
- cpufreq_freqs.old = tmp;
- cpufreq_notify_transition(policy, &cpufreq_freqs,
- CPUFREQ_PRECHANGE);
- cpufreq_notify_transition(policy, &cpufreq_freqs,
- CPUFREQ_POSTCHANGE);
printk(KERN_WARNING "Transition failed with error %d\n", ret);
retval = -ENODEV;
goto migrate_end;
}
- cpufreq_notify_transition(policy, &cpufreq_freqs, CPUFREQ_POSTCHANGE);
-
data->acpi_data.state = state;
retval = 0;