aboutsummaryrefslogtreecommitdiff
path: root/drivers/cpufreq/cpufreq.c
diff options
context:
space:
mode:
authorViresh Kumar <viresh.kumar@linaro.org>2013-08-14 19:38:24 +0530
committerRafael J. Wysocki <rafael.j.wysocki@intel.com>2013-10-31 00:11:08 +0100
commitd4019f0a92ab802f385cc9c8ad3ab7b5449712cb (patch)
treeebd06695585e457ae1bf219653452b111e7508db /drivers/cpufreq/cpufreq.c
parent7dbf694db6ac7c759599316d50d7050efcbd512a (diff)
downloadleg-kernel-d4019f0a92ab802f385cc9c8ad3ab7b5449712cb.tar.gz
cpufreq: move freq change notifications to cpufreq core
Most of the drivers do following in their ->target_index() routines: struct cpufreq_freqs freqs; freqs.old = old freq... freqs.new = new freq... cpufreq_notify_transition(policy, &freqs, CPUFREQ_PRECHANGE); /* Change rate here */ cpufreq_notify_transition(policy, &freqs, CPUFREQ_POSTCHANGE); This is replicated over all cpufreq drivers today and there doesn't exists a good enough reason why this shouldn't be moved to cpufreq core instead. There are few special cases though, like exynos5440, which doesn't do everything on the call to ->target_index() routine and call some kind of bottom halves for doing this work, work/tasklet/etc.. They may continue doing notification from their own code as flag: CPUFREQ_ASYNC_NOTIFICATION is already set for them. All drivers are also modified in this patch to avoid breaking 'git bisect', as double notification would happen otherwise. Acked-by: Hans-Christian Egtvedt <egtvedt@samfundet.no> Acked-by: Jesper Nilsson <jesper.nilsson@axis.com> Acked-by: Linus Walleij <linus.walleij@linaro.org> Acked-by: Russell King <linux@arm.linux.org.uk> Acked-by: Stephen Warren <swarren@nvidia.com> Tested-by: Andrew Lunn <andrew@lunn.ch> Tested-by: Nicolas Pitre <nicolas.pitre@linaro.org> Reviewed-by: Lan Tianyu <tianyu.lan@intel.com> Signed-off-by: Viresh Kumar <viresh.kumar@linaro.org> Signed-off-by: Rafael J. Wysocki <rafael.j.wysocki@intel.com>
Diffstat (limited to 'drivers/cpufreq/cpufreq.c')
-rw-r--r--drivers/cpufreq/cpufreq.c40
1 files changed, 37 insertions, 3 deletions
diff --git a/drivers/cpufreq/cpufreq.c b/drivers/cpufreq/cpufreq.c
index 6c9cbb9ebd1f..02d534da22dd 100644
--- a/drivers/cpufreq/cpufreq.c
+++ b/drivers/cpufreq/cpufreq.c
@@ -1669,6 +1669,8 @@ int __cpufreq_driver_target(struct cpufreq_policy *policy,
retval = cpufreq_driver->target(policy, target_freq, relation);
else if (cpufreq_driver->target_index) {
struct cpufreq_frequency_table *freq_table;
+ struct cpufreq_freqs freqs;
+ bool notify;
int index;
freq_table = cpufreq_frequency_get_table(policy->cpu);
@@ -1684,10 +1686,42 @@ int __cpufreq_driver_target(struct cpufreq_policy *policy,
goto out;
}
- if (freq_table[index].frequency == policy->cur)
+ if (freq_table[index].frequency == policy->cur) {
retval = 0;
- else
- retval = cpufreq_driver->target_index(policy, index);
+ goto out;
+ }
+
+ notify = !(cpufreq_driver->flags & CPUFREQ_ASYNC_NOTIFICATION);
+
+ if (notify) {
+ freqs.old = policy->cur;
+ freqs.new = freq_table[index].frequency;
+ freqs.flags = 0;
+
+ pr_debug("%s: cpu: %d, oldfreq: %u, new freq: %u\n",
+ __func__, policy->cpu, freqs.old,
+ freqs.new);
+
+ cpufreq_notify_transition(policy, &freqs,
+ CPUFREQ_PRECHANGE);
+ }
+
+ retval = cpufreq_driver->target_index(policy, index);
+ if (retval)
+ pr_err("%s: Failed to change cpu frequency: %d\n",
+ __func__, retval);
+
+ if (notify) {
+ /*
+ * Notify with old freq in case we failed to change
+ * frequency
+ */
+ if (retval)
+ freqs.new = freqs.old;
+
+ cpufreq_notify_transition(policy, &freqs,
+ CPUFREQ_POSTCHANGE);
+ }
}
out: