aboutsummaryrefslogtreecommitdiff
path: root/drivers/cpufreq/acpi-cpufreq.c
diff options
context:
space:
mode:
authorViresh Kumar <viresh.kumar@linaro.org>2013-08-14 19:38:24 +0530
committerRafael J. Wysocki <rafael.j.wysocki@intel.com>2013-10-31 00:11:08 +0100
commitd4019f0a92ab802f385cc9c8ad3ab7b5449712cb (patch)
treeebd06695585e457ae1bf219653452b111e7508db /drivers/cpufreq/acpi-cpufreq.c
parent7dbf694db6ac7c759599316d50d7050efcbd512a (diff)
downloadleg-kernel-d4019f0a92ab802f385cc9c8ad3ab7b5449712cb.tar.gz
cpufreq: move freq change notifications to cpufreq core
Most of the drivers do following in their ->target_index() routines: struct cpufreq_freqs freqs; freqs.old = old freq... freqs.new = new freq... cpufreq_notify_transition(policy, &freqs, CPUFREQ_PRECHANGE); /* Change rate here */ cpufreq_notify_transition(policy, &freqs, CPUFREQ_POSTCHANGE); This is replicated over all cpufreq drivers today and there doesn't exists a good enough reason why this shouldn't be moved to cpufreq core instead. There are few special cases though, like exynos5440, which doesn't do everything on the call to ->target_index() routine and call some kind of bottom halves for doing this work, work/tasklet/etc.. They may continue doing notification from their own code as flag: CPUFREQ_ASYNC_NOTIFICATION is already set for them. All drivers are also modified in this patch to avoid breaking 'git bisect', as double notification would happen otherwise. Acked-by: Hans-Christian Egtvedt <egtvedt@samfundet.no> Acked-by: Jesper Nilsson <jesper.nilsson@axis.com> Acked-by: Linus Walleij <linus.walleij@linaro.org> Acked-by: Russell King <linux@arm.linux.org.uk> Acked-by: Stephen Warren <swarren@nvidia.com> Tested-by: Andrew Lunn <andrew@lunn.ch> Tested-by: Nicolas Pitre <nicolas.pitre@linaro.org> Reviewed-by: Lan Tianyu <tianyu.lan@intel.com> Signed-off-by: Viresh Kumar <viresh.kumar@linaro.org> Signed-off-by: Rafael J. Wysocki <rafael.j.wysocki@intel.com>
Diffstat (limited to 'drivers/cpufreq/acpi-cpufreq.c')
-rw-r--r--drivers/cpufreq/acpi-cpufreq.c14
1 files changed, 2 insertions, 12 deletions
diff --git a/drivers/cpufreq/acpi-cpufreq.c b/drivers/cpufreq/acpi-cpufreq.c
index 889cec0a9022..3c060dd50637 100644
--- a/drivers/cpufreq/acpi-cpufreq.c
+++ b/drivers/cpufreq/acpi-cpufreq.c
@@ -428,14 +428,10 @@ static int acpi_cpufreq_target(struct cpufreq_policy *policy,
{
struct acpi_cpufreq_data *data = per_cpu(acfreq_data, policy->cpu);
struct acpi_processor_performance *perf;
- struct cpufreq_freqs freqs;
struct drv_cmd cmd;
unsigned int next_perf_state = 0; /* Index into perf table */
int result = 0;
- pr_debug("acpi_cpufreq_target %d (%d)\n",
- data->freq_table[index].frequency, policy->cpu);
-
if (unlikely(data == NULL ||
data->acpi_data == NULL || data->freq_table == NULL)) {
return -ENODEV;
@@ -483,23 +479,17 @@ static int acpi_cpufreq_target(struct cpufreq_policy *policy,
else
cmd.mask = cpumask_of(policy->cpu);
- freqs.old = perf->states[perf->state].core_frequency * 1000;
- freqs.new = data->freq_table[index].frequency;
- cpufreq_notify_transition(policy, &freqs, CPUFREQ_PRECHANGE);
-
drv_write(&cmd);
if (acpi_pstate_strict) {
- if (!check_freqs(cmd.mask, freqs.new, data)) {
+ if (!check_freqs(cmd.mask, data->freq_table[index].frequency,
+ data)) {
pr_debug("acpi_cpufreq_target failed (%d)\n",
policy->cpu);
result = -EAGAIN;
- freqs.new = freqs.old;
}
}
- cpufreq_notify_transition(policy, &freqs, CPUFREQ_POSTCHANGE);
-
if (!result)
perf->state = next_perf_state;