aboutsummaryrefslogtreecommitdiff
path: root/drivers/char/ppdev.c
diff options
context:
space:
mode:
authorLuis R. Rodriguez <mcgrof@kernel.org>2016-02-03 14:06:12 -0500
committerGreg Kroah-Hartman <gregkh@linuxfoundation.org>2016-02-08 15:00:04 -0800
commit468623bb835c215028947820c5c36afa409de633 (patch)
tree9abc7b9f9a52062c3a47ca2d0389d942c4800f8a /drivers/char/ppdev.c
parent202cdb6f889bf45e1cb4883e1727e9909152b777 (diff)
downloadleg-kernel-468623bb835c215028947820c5c36afa409de633.tar.gz
firmware: simplify dev_*() print messages for generic helpers
Simplify a few of the *generic* shared dev_warn() and dev_dbg() print messages for three reasons: 0) Historically firmware_class code was added to help get device driver firmware binaries but these days request_firmware*() helpers are being repurposed for general *system data* needed by the kernel. 1) This will also help generalize shared code as much as possible later in the future in consideration for a new extensible firmware API which will enable to separate usermode helper code out as much as possible. 2) Kees Cook pointed out the the prints already have the device associated as dev_*() helpers are used, that should help identify the user and case in which the helpers are used. That should provide enough context and simplifies the messages further. v4: generalize debug/warn messages even further as suggested by Kees Cook. Cc: Rusty Russell <rusty@rustcorp.com.au> Cc: Andrew Morton <akpm@linux-foundation.org> Cc: David Howells <dhowells@redhat.com> Cc: Casey Schaufler <casey@schaufler-ca.com> Cc: Ming Lei <ming.lei@canonical.com> Cc: Takashi Iwai <tiwai@suse.de> Cc: Vojtěch Pavlík <vojtech@suse.cz> Cc: Kyle McMartin <kyle@kernel.org> Cc: Matthew Garrett <mjg59@srcf.ucam.org> Cc: linux-kernel@vger.kernel.org Signed-off-by: Luis R. Rodriguez <mcgrof@kernel.org> Signed-off-by: Mimi Zohar <zohar@linux.vnet.ibm.com> Acked-by: Kees Cook <keescook@chromium.org> Signed-off-by: Greg Kroah-Hartman <gregkh@linuxfoundation.org>
Diffstat (limited to 'drivers/char/ppdev.c')
0 files changed, 0 insertions, 0 deletions