aboutsummaryrefslogtreecommitdiff
diff options
context:
space:
mode:
authorArnaldo Carvalho de Melo <acme@redhat.com>2016-05-12 16:25:18 -0300
committerArnaldo Carvalho de Melo <acme@redhat.com>2016-05-12 16:25:18 -0300
commit42ef8a78c1f49f53f29f0f3a6f9a5bcbc653233e (patch)
tree94e3776eeff15c96c30f32a09d63ad3bcb9fdc84
parent08094828b711dd32de57e9e3314935e19db71b3d (diff)
downloadleg-kernel-42ef8a78c1f49f53f29f0f3a6f9a5bcbc653233e.tar.gz
perf stat: Fallback to user only counters when perf_event_paranoid > 1
After 0161028b7c8a ("perf/core: Change the default paranoia level to 2") 'perf stat' fails for users without CAP_SYS_ADMIN, so just use 'perf_evsel__fallback()' to have the same behaviour as 'perf record', i.e. set perf_event_attr.exclude_kernel to 1. Now: [acme@jouet linux]$ perf stat usleep 1 Performance counter stats for 'usleep 1': 0.352536 task-clock:u (msec) # 0.423 CPUs utilized 0 context-switches:u # 0.000 K/sec 0 cpu-migrations:u # 0.000 K/sec 49 page-faults:u # 0.139 M/sec 309,407 cycles:u # 0.878 GHz 243,791 instructions:u # 0.79 insn per cycle 49,622 branches:u # 140.757 M/sec 3,884 branch-misses:u # 7.83% of all branches 0.000834174 seconds time elapsed [acme@jouet linux]$ Reported-by: Ingo Molnar <mingo@kernel.org> Cc: Adrian Hunter <adrian.hunter@intel.com> Cc: Andy Lutomirski <luto@kernel.org> Cc: David Ahern <dsahern@gmail.com> Cc: Jiri Olsa <jolsa@kernel.org> Cc: Kees Cook <keescook@chromium.org> Cc: Linus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org> Cc: Masami Hiramatsu <mhiramat@kernel.org> Cc: Namhyung Kim <namhyung@kernel.org> Cc: Peter Zijlstra <peterz@infradead.org> Cc: Wang Nan <wangnan0@huawei.com> Link: http://lkml.kernel.org/n/tip-b20jmx4dxt5hpaa9t2rroi0o@git.kernel.org Signed-off-by: Arnaldo Carvalho de Melo <acme@redhat.com>
-rw-r--r--tools/perf/builtin-stat.c7
1 files changed, 6 insertions, 1 deletions
diff --git a/tools/perf/builtin-stat.c b/tools/perf/builtin-stat.c
index 1f19f2f999c8..307e8a1a003c 100644
--- a/tools/perf/builtin-stat.c
+++ b/tools/perf/builtin-stat.c
@@ -528,6 +528,7 @@ static int __run_perf_stat(int argc, const char **argv)
perf_evlist__set_leader(evsel_list);
evlist__for_each(evsel_list, counter) {
+try_again:
if (create_perf_stat_counter(counter) < 0) {
/*
* PPC returns ENXIO for HW counters until 2.6.37
@@ -544,7 +545,11 @@ static int __run_perf_stat(int argc, const char **argv)
if ((counter->leader != counter) ||
!(counter->leader->nr_members > 1))
continue;
- }
+ } else if (perf_evsel__fallback(counter, errno, msg, sizeof(msg))) {
+ if (verbose)
+ ui__warning("%s\n", msg);
+ goto try_again;
+ }
perf_evsel__open_strerror(counter, &target,
errno, msg, sizeof(msg));